The Divergent Series Films

The Divergent Series is a feature film series based on the Divergent novels by the American author Veronica Roth. The series is distributed by Summit Entertainment and consists of four science-fiction dystopian action adventure films produced by Lucy Fisher, Pouya Shabazian, and Douglas Wick and stars Shailene Woodley and Theo James as the two leading characters, Beatrice “Tris” Priorand Tobias “Four” Eaton. Two directors have worked on the series; Neil Burger directed the first film and Robert Schwentke directed the next two films.

The series began development in 2011 when Summit Entertainment acquired the film rights to Divergent with production company Red Wagon Entertainment. After Divergent grossed US$4.9 million in Thursday late nights screenings, Summit Entertainment announced they would begin production on Insurgent; they had acquired the rights to the novel Allegiant in December 2013 with a two-part adaptation of the novel being announced in April 2014.

Critical reaction to the franchise has been mixed, according to review aggregator websites. The first two films were commercially successful, with each film reaching the No. 1 spot at the box-office during their opening weekends. The first installment, Divergent (2014), grossed over US$288 million worldwide, while the second installment, The Divergent Series: Insurgent (2015), grossed over US$277 million worldwide, and was the first Divergent film to bereleased in IMAX 3D.

With two films released, The Divergent Series has currently grossed over US$558 million worldwide. A two-part finale, titled The Divergent Series: Allegiant, was announced with Part 1 being released in 2016 and Part 2 in 2017.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s